2005-2006 Art Collection Writing Award Winners

First Prize Critical Response
Chris Bettison
For his essay "Burrowing Towards Being: Reterritorialization in the Language of Contemporary Art"
Inspired by Kara Walker, Event Horizon, 2005

First Prize Creative Response
Jill Dearman, M.F.A. in Creative Writing, Parsons The New School for Design
For her short story "Queen of the Merge"
Inspired by David Wojnarowicz, Tommy's Illness, 1987

Second Prize Critical Response
Timothy Chapman, M.F.A. in Non-Fiction, The New School for Social Research
For his text "Deciphering Cy Twombly"
Inspired by Cy Twombly, On the Bowery portfolio, 1971

Second Prize, Creative Response
Michael Quattrone
For his poem "EVENT HORIZON"
Inspired by Kara Walker, Event Horizon, 2005
      • K Vlcessay Award Newspaper 0506final Download - pdf (1.61 MB)
2005–06 Jury Members
Carin Kuoni, Director, Vera List Center for Art and Politics
Deborah Landau, Associate Professor and Assistant Chair, The New School Writing Program
Rosemary O'Neill, Assistant Dean for Faculty, Parsons The New School for Design
Robert Polito, Director, Writing Program and MFA in Creative Writing, The New School
Cay Sophie Rabinowitz, faculty member, Parsons The New School for Design, and Senior U.S. Editor, Parkett magazine